top of page
  • Writer's pictureAttorney Joseph Soler

Can I ride my electric bike, moped, or scooter in Florida if my driver license is suspended?

Florida law says that any person whose driver license or driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked who drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of this state commits a crime. Florida law makes an exception, though, for electric bikes; by definition, an electric bike is not considered a motor vehicle in Florida.

The question is: is your bike, moped, or scooter considered a motor vehicle or an electric bike?

If it considered a “motor vehicle” then you cannot drive it with a suspended license. However, if it is considered an “electric bicycle” then you are allowed to drive it. (Be aware that even if it is technically not a crime to ride it, you still need to comport with Florida law if you plan to drive on the street. Not all electric bikes, scooters, or mopeds are necessarily street legal.)

A “motor vehicle” is essentially any self-propelled vehicle (Fl law excludes vehicles moved solely by human power, motorized wheelchairs, and motorized bicycles from the definition of motor vehicle). This means that most scooters, mopeds, and mini motorcycles that are strictly self-propelled are considered motor vehicles per Florida law.

What is an electric or motorized bicycle?

An electric bicycle is:

1. propelled by a combination of human power and an electric helper motor, and

2. cannot go faster than 20 miles per hour

An electric bike will have pedals on it where one can pedal the bike in addition to operating it with the electric motor. This makes it propelled by a combination of both human power and electric motor. An electric bike should also not be able to go faster than 20 miles per hour. If your vehicle meets the definition of an electric bike, then you can legally ride it in the State of Florida even with a suspended driver license.

1,949 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Sign Up For DUI School in Sarasota

If a person enters a plea for a DUI in Florida, the law requires the person to enroll in and complete the DUI School Program. In some cases, it may also be beneficial to enter into the DUI School pro


bottom of page