top of page
  • Writer's pictureAttorney Joseph Soler

Two or more DUI's? Sarasota DUI Court focuses on getting you help...

If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) and have a prior DUI conviction, you may qualify for Sarasota County DUI Court. The Sarasota DUI Court Program is an excellent program modeled after the Drug Court concept.

The DUI Court program involves group therapy and group instruction in a class-like environment where participants graduate through stages as they accomplish goals in the program. The ultimate goal of the DUI Program is to change behavior and allow one to address psychological and alcohol addiction issues so as to become a productive--and hopefully a sober-driving--member of society.

DUI Court focus on getting you help, rather than throwing you in jail

As mentioned in the title, the DUI Court program focuses on rehabilitation and help rather than punishment and jail. The program is presided over by 12th Judicial Circuit Judge Denkin who runs a tight ship yet who is extremely fair and genuinely concerned with the welfare of the DUI Court participants.

How much does DUI Court cost?

An initial $100.00 administrative fee is required to be paid. DUI Court participants are also required to pay $200.00 per month to be a part of the program.

In addition to the costs of the program, participants are also required to pay the fines associated with their DUI charge and probation supervision costs. If a participant is concerned that they cannot pay the DUI fine or court cost, Judge Denkin may allow them to work off all, or a portion of, the fees by completing community service hours.

Am I eligible to participate in DUI Court?

To be eligible to enter into the DUI Court program, you must:

  • Be charged with DUI

  • Have one or more prior arrest(s) for alcohol or drug related offenses.

  • Have an alcohol problem

  • Be willing and able to complete the program and participate in your recovery.

  • Cannot have a violent criminal history.

  • Cannot have any prior charges related to drug dealing or the sale of drugs

  • Be 18 years of age or older.

  • You must live in Sarasota, Manatee, or DeSoto County.

  • Be able to attend all required court appearances, treatment sessions, and meetings.

Call our attorneys at (941) 444-5128 to schedule a free case evaluation and to discuss your best course of action for your DUI case. If you are charged with a second, third, or even a fourth DUI we can help you. Our DUI attorneys have extensive experience helping people charged with multiple DUI's in Sarasota and Manatee County. Please visit our DUI page for more information about how we can help you.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Boating Under the Influence

While most are familiar with driving under the influence charges (DUI) in Florida, a person can also be charged with "boating under the influence" or BUI. A favorite past time in Florida is going out


bottom of page