top of page


Top 100 Criminal Lawyer
Top 40 Under 40 Criminal Defense Lawyer
10 Best Criminal Attorney


Reckless Driving

Fla. Stat. §316.192

Reckless driving in the State of Florida is governed by Fla. Stat. §316.192.  Under that statute, reckless driving is defined as, “any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property,” additionally, it is reckless driving per se when a person flees “a law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle.”   

  • A first conviction of reckless driving is punishable by up to 90 days in a county jail or a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500, or both.  


  • On a second or subsequent conviction for reckless driving, it is punishable by no more than 6 months in the county jail or probation or a combination thereof, or a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000, or both.  


Damage to Property or Personal Injury

Additionally, as a result of any reckless driving behavior, if it results in damage to property or person of another it is punishable as a first-degree misdemeanor, which means you could receive up to one year in the county jail or probation or combination thereof, or a fine up to $1,000; or both. 

If Someone is Seriously Injured It Is a Felony

Furthermore, if reckless driving behavior results in serious bodily injury, then it is charged as a third-degree felony.  In the State of Florida, a third-degree felony is punishable by up to five (5) years in prison, probation or combination thereof, or a fine of up to $5,000; or both.

What is Serious Bodily Injury?

Serious bodily injury defined as, “injury to another person, which consists of a physical condition that creates a substantial risk of death, serious personal disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.”  

Additional Penalties for Reckless Driving in Florida

In addition to the above, there are civil penalties if a person is convicted of reckless driving.  As a result, four points will be added to a person’s driving record, which could lead to further administrative, or Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DMV), sanctions such as suspension or loss of driving privileges, even higher insurance rates.

bottom of page